34-member ‘coalition cabinet’ takes oath


ISLAMABAD, Apr 19: The 34-member federal cabinet comprising the members from mainstream political parties of the country took oath on Tuesday at a swearing-in ceremony held here at the Aiwan-e-Sadr.

Chairman Senate SadiqSanjrani administered oath to the cabinet members – 31 federal ministers and three state ministers, a week after he had sworn-in Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif as the head of the government.

Besides PM Shehbaz Sharif, the event was attended by senior politicians including Bilawal Bhutto, former prime ministers YousufRazaGilani and Raja Pervaiz Ashraf, and a large number of parliamentarians, party workers and government officials.

The new cabinet reflected the political mix of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), JamiatUlema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and MuttahidaQaumi Movement (MQM).

One member each from BalochistanAwami Party (BAP), JamhooriWatan Party and Pakistan Muslim League-Q also joined the cabinet. Balochistan National Party stayed away from becoming part of the coalition cabinet.

The opposition alliance had led to the ouster of Prime Minister Imran Khan from his office through a majority no-confidence vote in the parliament on April 10.

On oath, the cabinet made its solemn pledge “to bear true faith and allegiance to Pakistan, discharge its duties honestly to the best of ability and faithfully in accordance with the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan and the law”.

“I will strive to preserve the Islamic Ideology which is the basis for the creation of Pakistan. That I will not allow my personal interest to influence my official conduct or my official decisions,” said the new ministers in chorus-reading of the text of the official oath.

The list of federal ministers categorized as per their political parties is as under:


Pakistan Muslim League-N:

1. Khawaja Muhammad Asif, MNA

2. AhsanIqbalChaudhary, MNA

3. Rana Sana Ullah Khan. MNA

4. SardarAyazSadiq, MNA

5. RanaTanveerHussain, MNA

6. KhurrumDastagir Khan, MNA

7. Marriyum Aurangzeb, MNA

8. KhawajaSaadRafique, MNA

9. MianJavedLatif, MNA

10. MianRiazHussainPirzada, MNA

11. MurtazaJavedAbbasi. MNA

12. AzamNazeerTarar, Senator

13. Miftah Ismail


14. Syed Khursheed Ahmed Shah, MNA

15. Syed NaveedQamar, MNA

16. Sherry Rehman, Senator

17. Abdul Qadir Patel, MNA

18. ShaziaMarri, MNA

19. Syed Murtaza Mahmud, MNA

20. SajidHussainTuri, MNA

21. Ehsaan-ur-RehmanMazari, MNA

22. AbidHussainBhayo, MNA


23. AsadMahmood, MNA

24. Abdul Wasay, MNA

25. Mufti Abdul Shakoor, MNA

26. Muhammad TalhaMahmood, Senator


27. Syed Amin-ul-Haque, MNA

28. Syed Faisal Ali Subzwari, Senator

BalochistanAwami Party:

29. Muhammad IsrarTareen, MNA


30. NawabzadaShazainBugti, MNA

Pakistan Muslim League-Q:

31. Chaudhary Tariq Bashir Cheema, MNA


1. Dr. Aisha Ghaus Pasha, MNA – PML-N

2. HinaRabbaniKhar, MNA – PPP

3. Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju, MNA – PML-N

The cabinet also includes Advisers namely QamarZamanKaira, Engineer Amir Muqam and Aon Chaudhry.

The President House in a statement issued prior to the oath-taking ceremony said that President DrArifAlvi had given formal approval to the names of the federal and state ministers, and advisers.

The portfolios of the cabinet will be announced later.