Opposition submits no-trust motion against PM Imran


ISLAMABAD, MAR 8: A delegation of senior opposition lawmakers submitted the no-trust motion against Prime Minister Imran Khan with the National Assembly Secretariat on Tuesday, PML-N spokesperson Marriyum Aurangzeb said.

The confirmation from her came after a delegation of opposition lawmakers, including Rana Sanaullah, Ayaz Sadiq, Shazia Marri and Marriyum Aurangzeb, had reached Parliament House in Islamabad.

PPP leader Naveed Qamar said the motion, requisitioning a National Assembly session, had signatures of more than 100 lawmakers. According to NA rules, in order for a session to be requisitioned to vote on a no-confidence motion, signatures from at least 68 MNAs are required.

In order to make the no-confidence motion against the prime minister successful, the joint opposition requires the support of 172 MNAs.

According to Article 54 of the Constitution, the NA speaker has a maximum of 14 days to summon a session of the house following the requisition.

After the session has been called, the NA secretary will circulate the notice to members and the resolution of a vote of no-confidence will be moved on the next working day.

From the day the resolution is moved, it “shall not be voted upon before the expiry of three days, or later than seven days,”.