PCB announces schedule of New Zealand tour

PCB announces schedule of New Zealand tour

LAHORE: Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced the schedule of the New Zealand men’s cricket team tour during which five T20 matches will be played.

The PCB said that matches will be played in Lahore and Rawalpindi.

The Kiwis’ team is scheduled to arrive in Islamabad on April 14 and will play three T20Is at the Pindi Cricket Stadium in Rawalpindi on April 18, 20 and 21.

After this, both sides will move to Lahore, where they will play the remaining two T20Is of the series on April 25 and 27, respectively.

All five matches of the T20I series will begin at 7pm, the cricket board said.

It added that the ticket prices for the series will be set at affordable rates for the fans to watch their favourite players in action.

The coming tour of the Blackcaps will mark their third visit to Pakistan in the span of 17 months.

Previously, they had travelled to Pakistan in December 2022/January 2023 to feature in two Tests and three ODIs — part of the ICC Men’s Championship.

Later that year in April, they travelled to Lahore, Rawalpindi and Karachi to feature in 10 white-ball matches.

‘Deep-rooted ties’
Speaking on the occasion, PCB’s Director International Cricket Usman Wahla said the visit was a testament to the unwavering camaraderie between the PCB and New Zealand Cricket (NZC).

“This tour symbolises the deep-rooted ties and mutual respect that define the relationship between our two cricketing nations.

“Our avid cricket fans and the people of Pakistan will welcome the New Zealand team again and we hope to have yet another competitive series which is a key part of our buildup to this year’s ICC T20 World Cup.”

New Zealand series schedule
April 16-17 — Training/practice
April 18 — 1st T20I, Rawalpindi
April 20 — 2nd T20I, Rawalpindi
April 21 — 3rd T20I, Rawalpindi
April 25 — 4th T20I, Lahore
April 27 — 5th T20I, Lahore