PSL 2023: Multan Sultans win toss, ask Lahore Qalandars to bat in opener


The Multan Sultans won the toss and elected to field first against Lahore Qalandars in the opening match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2023 at the Multan Cricket Stadium.

Mohammad Rizwan is leading Multan, meanwhile, Shaheen Afridi is in charge of the defending champions Qalandars.

Lahore Qalandars will attempt to become the first side to win back-to-back titles; meanwhile Islamabad United will aim to become the most successful side by lifting the trophy thrice.

The winner of PSL 8 will not only lift the Supernova Trophy but will also collect a cheque of Rs120m, while the runners-up will receive a cheque of Rs48m.

Earlier, during the opening ceremony, the cricket fans in Multan and all around the world saw spectacular performances by different artists and one of the major attractions were the performances of the singers, Abdullah Siddiqui, Asim Azhar, Faris Shafi and Shae Gill, of the PSL 8 anthem.

The fans were also treated to performances by the renowned music composer Sahir Ali Bagga and talented singer Aima Baig as the two added to the star-studded line-up.

Playing XI

Multan Sultans: Muhammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Usman Khan, David Miller, Kieron Pollard, Khushdil Shah, Akeal Hossain, Usama Mir, Sameen Gul, Shahnawaz Dahani, Ihsanullah

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Tahir Baig, Shai Hope, Kamran Ghulam, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, Liam Dawson, David Wiese, Shaheen Afridi, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan