BIG UPSET: USA defeat Pakistan in T20 cricket world cup opener IN SUPER OVER



DALLAS: The Cricket minnows USA stunned Pakistan on Friday by defeating the leading cricketing nation IN THE SUPER OVER. USA, playing for the first time in T20 World Cup chased the total of 159 set by Pakistan and achieved the target easily. The scores were levelled in the 20th over.

In Super Over USA playing first scored 19 runs. Out of 18 runs 8 runs were extras. Muhamamd Amir bowled the super over from Pakistan. Pakistan could not score 18 runs.

Earlier, Babar Azam-led Pakistan posted a 160-run target in their first T20 World Cup 2024 encounter against the United States in the 11th match of the global event being played at Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas on Thursday.

The USA had a brilliant start with the ball as their bowlers sent the Pakistani top-order — Mohammad Rizwan, Usman Khan and Fakhar Zaman — back to the pavilion for just 26 runs.

However, after losing three wickets, skipper Babar Azam and Shadab Khan played with caution and put the struggling Pakistani side back in the game.

A 72-run partnership between Babar and Shadab helped Pakistan go on top once again but Shadab walked back to the pavilion after scoring 40 runs on 25 balls.

Right after Shadab’s dismissal, wicketkeeper batter Azam Khan got out on a golden duck and the wickets continued to fall.

Babar Azam scored 44 off 43. Iftikhar Ahmed departed after scoring 18 runs.

Shaheen Afridi (23 off 16 balls) provided crucial runs to Pakistan down the order and helped them conclude their innings at 159-7 in the allocated overs.

Earlier at the toss, USA skipper Monak Patel defended his decision of bowling first saying that chasing is easier and they did the same in their previous match against Canada.

“Chasing here is easier,” said USA captain Monak Patel at the toss as quoted by ESPN Cricinfo. “The way we chased down total was entertaining. Have momentum, want to continue that. Excited for this challenge.”

Playing XIs

USA: Steven Taylor, Monank Patel (capt, wk), Andries Gous, Aaron Jones, Nitish Kumar, Corey Anderson, Harmeet Singh, Jasdeep Singh, Nosthush Kenjige, Saurabh Netravalkar, Ali Khan

Pakistan: Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Usman Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Amir, Haris Rauf

Pakistan is the only team to have reached the semi-final of T20 World Cup six times (2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2021 and 2022).