Canada imposes new sanctions on Russia


Bali, JUL 8: Canada has imposed sanctions on 29 individuals and 15 legal entities from Russia. The list also includes Russian Foreign Ministry Spokesperson Maria Zakharova and dozens of Russian journalists, Canadian Foreign Minister Melanie Joly said in a statement on Friday.

Foreign Minister Melanie Joly today, during a meeting of G20 Foreign Ministers in Bali, announced additional sanctions in connection with Russia’s illegal and unjustified invasion of Ukraine, the Canadian Foreign Ministry’s press service said in a document.

In particular, the list includes Patriarch Kirill (Vladimir Gundyaev), journalist Ekaterina Andreeva, Regnum news agency, and Russian consumer watchdog Roskomnadzor.

The Canadian government has also included TASS, Channel One, RT, NTV, VGTRK and other Russian media on the sanctions list, according to a document posted on the website of the Canadian Foreign Ministry.