FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Fixtures, Timings, And Results


The FIH Odisha Hockey Men’s World Cup of 2023 is being hosted by India in Rourkela, Odisha. Check here for the full schedule, fixtures, timings, and results of the International Hockey World Cup.

BHUBANESWAR, JAN 21: The FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup is the flagship event of the International Hockey Federation (FIH) and is held every four years. The 15th edition of the tournament, the 2023 FIH Hockey World Cup, is set to take place in India from January 13 to 29, 2023.

The tournament was first held in 1971 in Barcelona, Spain and since then, it has been held in various countries across the world. Pakistan is the most successful team in the tournament’s history, having won the title on four occasions (1971, 1978, 1982, and 1994).

The 2023 edition of the tournament will feature 16 teams, with the host nation, India, automatically qualifying for the tournament. The teams will be divided into four pools of four teams each. 


The top team from each pool advances to the quarter-finals, whereas the runner-ups have to play crossover matches. 

The tournament will start with the opening ceremony and a match between Argentina and South Africa on January 13, 2023. The final match of the tournament will be played on January 29, 2023. The matches will be held across two venues, the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneshwar and the Birsa Munda Stadium in Rourkela. Pakistan, the most successful team in Men’s Hockey World Cup is not taking part in the tournament this year. 

FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup 2023: Fixtures, Timings, And Results.

Date FixtureTimings (IST)
January 13, FridayArgentina vs South Africa1:00 PM
January 13, FridayAustralia vs France3:00 PM
January 13, FridayEngland vs Wales5:00 PM
January 13, FridayIndia vs Spain7:00 PM
January 14, SaturdayNew Zealand vs Chile1:00 PM
January 14, SaturdayNetherlands vs Malaysia3:00 PM
January 14, SaturdayBelgium vs Korea5:00 PM
January 14, SaturdayGermany vs Japan7:00 PM
January 15, SundaySpain vs Wales5:00 PM
January 15, SundayEngland vs India (No Winner)7:00 PM
January 16, MondayMalaysia vs Chile1:00 PM
January 16, MondayNew Zealand vs Netherlands3:00 PM
January 16, MondayFrance vs South Africa5:00 PM
January 16, MondayArgentina vs Australia (No Winner)7:00 PM
January 17, TuesdayKorea vs Japan5:00 PM
January 17, TuesdayGermany vs Belgium (No Winner)7:00 PM
January 19, ThursdayMalaysia vs New Zealand1:00 PM
January 19, ThursdayNetherlands vs Chile3:00 PM
January 19, ThursdaySpain vs England5:00 PM
January 19, ThursdayIndia vs Wales7:00 PM
January 20, FridayAustralia vs South Africa1:00 PM
January 20, FridayFrance vs Argentina3:00 PM
January 20, FridayBelgium vs Japan5:00 PM
January 20, FridayKorea vs Germany7:00 PM
January 22, Sunday2nd Pool C vs 3rd Pool D(Crossover)4:30 PM
January 22, Sunday2nd Pool D vs 3rd Pool C(Crossover)7:00 PM
January 23, Monday2nd Pool A vs 3rd Pool B(Crossover)4:30 PM
January 23, Monday2nd Pool B vs 3rd Pool A(Crossover)7:00 PM
January 24, Tuesday1st Pool A vs Winner 25(Quarter-final)4:30 PM
January 24, Tuesday1st Pool B vs Winner 26(Quarter-final)7:00 PM
January 25, Wednesday1st Pool C vs Winner 27(Quarter-final)4:30 PM
January 25, Wednesday1st Pool D vs Winner 28(Quarter-final)7:00 PM
January 26, Thursday4th Pool A vs Loser 25(Classification)11:30 AM
January 26, Thursday4th Pool B vs Loser 26(Classification)2:00 PM
January 26, Thursday4th Pool C vs Loser 27(Classification)4:30 PM
January 26, Thursday4th Pool D vs Loser 28(Classification)7:00 PM
January 27, FridayWinner 29 vs Winner 32(1st Semi-final)4:30 PM
January 27, FridayWinner 30 vs Winner 31(2nd Semi-final)7:00 PM
January 28, SaturdayLoser 33 vs Loser 34(Classification)11:30 AM
January 28, SaturdayLoser 35 vs Loser 36(Classification)2:00 PM
January 28, SaturdayWinner 33 vs Winner 34(Classification)4:30 PM
January 28, SaturdayWinner 35 vs Winner 36(Classification)7:00 PM
January 29, SundayLoser 37 vs Loser 38(Runner-up)4:30 PM
January 29, SundayWinner 37 vs Winner 38(Final)7:00 PM

(Note: The teams in bold are match winners)

Australia, Belgium, and Netherlands are the top three teams in International Hockey. Germany and India occupy the 4th and the 5th spot, respectively.

The 2023 FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup promises to be an exciting tournament, featuring some of the best teams and players in the world. With the tournament taking place in India, it is sure to be a thrilling event for fans of the sport.