Islamabad to compete Lahore in National Women’s Basketball opener 



ISLAMABAD, Oct 02: Host Islamabad will compete against Lahore in the opening match of the National Women’s Basketball Championship starting from today (Monday) here at Liaquat Gymnasium, Pakistan Sports Complex. 

 According to the championship organizing secretary and Federal Basketball Association (FBBA)  General Secretary Ouj-e-Zahoor said that all arrangements have been completed for the successful five-day championship where top eight teams taking part in the event have been divided into two pools.

He said that Pool “A” comprises defending champion Pakistan Wapda, Karachi, Rawalpindi and Quetta while Pool “B” includes teams from Pakistan Army, Lahore, Islamabad and Peshawar.

Ouj-e-Zahoor said that Federal Minister for Inter-Provincial Coordination Ehsan Ur Rehman Mazari will be chief guest in the opening ceremony of the championship hosted by Federal Basketball Association under the umbrella of Pakistan Basketball Federation (PBBF). 

Four matches will be held on daily basis in the championship as matches between Islamabad and Lahore, defending champion Wapda and Quetta, Army and Peshawar, Karachi and Rawalpindi will compete on the opening day. 

The semi-final round of the championship will be played on October 6 while the final will be played on October 7.


October 3 (Day-1): Lahore vs Islamabad; Karachi vs Rawalpindi; Wapda vs Quetta; Army vs Peshawar.

October 4 (Day-2): Wapda vs Rawalpindi; Army vs Islamabad; Karachi vs Quetta; Lahore vs Peshawar.

October 5 (Day-3): Wapda vs Karachi; Rawalpindi vs Quetta; Islamabad vs Peshawar; Army vs Lahore.

October 6 (Day-4): Semi Finals 

October 7 (Day-5): Final