Treasury-Opposition agree on formation of committee on electoral reforms


ISLAMABAD, SEP 21 (DNA) – Parliamentary Representatives from the Treasury and the Opposition met Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaiser in Parliament House, on Tuesday.

Matters related to Electoral Reforms came under discussion. It was agreed that a committee comprising members from both the House would be constituted to work on various issues related to electoral reforms.

It was decided that motions would be moved in both the Houses for constitution of the Committee. It was also decided that Speaker National Assembly would be authorised to nominate members of the Electoral reforms committee in consultation with Parliamentary leaders. 

The Parliamentarians who met Speaker National Assembly include Federal Ministers Pervaiz Khattak, Shafqat Mehmood, MNAs Ms. Shahida Akthar Ali, Syed Naveed Qamar, Rana Tanvir Hussian and Murtaza Javed Abassi. = DNA