Imran Khan wins in Peshawar as PTI remains ahead on several seats


Peshawar, OCT 16: PTI Chairman Imran Khan won the NA-31 Peshawar-V seat after beating ANP’s Ghulam Ahmed Bilour as unofficial results of eight National Assembly, and three Punjab Assembly constituencies pour in.

Khan bagged 57,824 to defeat his rival, according to unofficial results, with Bilour securing 32,253 votes — allowing the PTI chairman to win by more than 25,000 votes.

PTI is ahead of the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) on multiple seats, according to unofficial results.

The counting of votes started at 5pm after the polling — which started at 8am — was held without interruptions despite intense political activity. Sporadic clashes were reported in some constituencies.

On the eighth seat that Khan wasn’t contesting, PDM candidate Musa Ali Gillani emerged victorious, according to unofficial results.

Musa — the son of former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gillani — bagged 79,743 votes and took a lead of 19,750 as Meher — the daughter of PTI leader Shah Mahmood Qureshi — was able to secure 59,993 votes, according to unofficial results.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said that overall, the polling process remained peaceful, and the commission’s central control room received 15 complaints of code violations.